Most recent post on Facebook…

Many of my friends are not facebookers and I wanted to let the word out!

My wonderful friend Louise Peters and I had a “meeting” of the minds this morning over coffee. I know many of you have been asking what you can do to help and I feel badly that I don’t really have anything that I need help with for the moment. Louise has been plotting with other friends to start some sort of “rally” for me with the intent to increase colon cancer awareness and help me at the same time. I am sure everyone here knows that pink is for breast cancer – but how many of you know that blue is for colon cancer??? (My husband wondered why it was not brown hahaha funny guy!).  After discussing what her thoughts where and where I am at, we came up with an idea that really fitted who I am. We would like to start a 501K that would raise money for colon cancer and I would like to make it my mission to increase resources for cancer patients in this area. When you get diagnosed, there is so much to digest and learn and very little resources here in Brevard. My first objective would be to produce a little booklet that each oncologist offices could hand out with all the already existing resources in our community. Other things we have thought about would be to have a website where we could put links to different online resources and eventually produce a CD with meditations and other mind/body tools for cancer patients. Our ultimate vision is to eventually have a physical hub for cancer patients where they could access integrative treatments, (Louise is a psychologist too and very into mindfulness and mind/body therapy). There is a need for restorative yoga, naturopathic consultants who know about cancer/chemo, acupuncture doctors familiar with cancer and chemo, and so on and so forth.  We would love to have an integrative mind/body center here in Brevard. We are planning our first event in December when we will have our own version of a “jingle bell run/walk” followed by fun stuff for kids. We want to make our events family friendly because I want to include my kids in all of this! Who is in? We need to come up with a name for our organization anyone has ideas? “Colons r us”? “Blue is the new pink”? Help us find our name!!!

5 thoughts on “Most recent post on Facebook…

  1. I would love to help your fund; just let me know what I can do. A cousin of mine started a foundation over on the West Coast of FL to help women with breast cancer who don’t have financial means . If you need some guidance getting started, I’m sure he would be glad to give you some advice-he is a retired attorney.

  2. Having a rally is a great idea. Please count me in. I love your idea of producing a booklet with existing resources in our community. Girlfriends Guild is a 501(3)c organization and I am willing to help in any way, shape or form. Rather than re-inventing the wheel and having gone through the headache to get Girlfriends Guild through all the red tape, to be a non-profit, (if you like) we could collaborate, using Girlfriends Guild’s website to put links to online resources as well as hosting meditations and other mind body tools for patients. Sometimes, the universe works in mysterious ways, because after reading your email, I have been thinking of ways that I could help. And I have been looking into setting up a “Dr. Rachel” foundation on Girlfriends Health.

    We are in the middle of re-designing Girlfriends Guild web site so this would provide the opportunity to create the space for this to happen. I don’t know how comfortable you would be with this idea or where you’re at with any of this, but regardless, I would love to help and I would be honored to be involved with the ‘meeting of the minds’ and work with you & Louise in fund raising, and developing and getting the rally up and running.

    Namaste,

    Annmarie

  3. I want you to know….I am thinking! We would love to be involved in the “jingle bell walk/run”
    I really like your idea for the resources.

  4. That is a wonderful idea! I will help you in any way you would like. I did all the paperwork to turn the PTO at our school into a 501(c)3, and I will do it all for you, too, if you want. Or I can help you with creating any marketing materials (flyers, brochures, whatever you need) or with alerting the media–that is my professional background. Just let me know.

Leave a Reply

